My Photography Journey

This week Amy invites us to show our photography journey and, I’m afraid I’m going to have to go back to prehistory…😉

My history with cameras starts in the 60s, I would be a 6 or 7 year old girl, when at a funfair I noticed some toy cameras, of course I insisted that I wanted one, my father bought me the yellow one.

I was a little disappointed, I wanted the black one. 🙄

Later, I was about 11 years old, got my first real camera, a Kodak Instamatic. All the photographs of that time were familiar, especially with my brother and my cousins during the holidays.

By then, my Nancy made better photos than me, in fact, she worked for the best magazines of the moment as a Freelance (I didn’t know that word then).

I’ve always had a great imagination 🤩

Then came a period in which photography practically disappeared from my life… Adolescence, friends, boyfriend… I appreciate that there were no mobile phones at that time, I don’t even want to think about what it would be like to have images from those days.

I regained interest with the arrival of my children, I wanted to immortalize everything, their laughter, their crying, their baths, their first steps… You understand me, don’t you?

Desempolvando el pasado
By then I bought my first reflex a Praktica with a 50 lens, which I still keep… very clean.

After several film cameras, which I never knew how to use well, the digital age came into my life, with a small 5 mpx camera and then my photographic journey changed.

I started taking other kind of pictures, my kids didn’t want to appear in them anymore and I had to turn my lens away. It was very important for me to start sharing the images on the internet, that’s where I really started to learn.

A big turning point was joining through Flickr to a photography group in my city. I have no words to express how much I have enjoyed and learned with them.

Other cameras came like the Sony A350 and with it one of my most beloved lenses the Tamron 90, I have already talked about it on other occasions. Closeup photography is my favorite, although I try to do different things I always come back to it.

Over the years I couldn’t forget my first photographic disappointment, remember the toy camera? Well, one day I saw her, she was announced on Facebook and I knew it was her, she was back in my life… the camera of my dreams!

Fuji X100

Maybe someday I’ll tell you how I got it, it’s a nice story.

In my photographic journey the cameras are very important, as you have seen my passion for photography began with a toy camera. But actually, I think it’s all about emotion. The other day I was telling Tina, the thrill of seeing an image, of pressing the button, of editing it, of sharing it…. that’s photography for me.

I hope my photographic journey did not seem too long to you, I already told you that it almost began in prehistory. If you’ve made it to the end, thank you so much for joining me.

Posted as part of Lens-Artists: My Photography Journey

30 thoughts on “My Photography Journey

  1. There was a charm and some magic in capturing photographs as a child with a film camera. The idea that you had taken a photograph but wouldn’t see it until you had finished the roll of film and then the wait for the pictures to return from processing! Great excitement in actually seeing the photographs for the first time and of course some disappointment but that is where the learning started…
    Thanks for sharing your photography journey. I’m sure that it is one that will continue to take you places and bring you great happiness and one where the learning never really stops…
    Keep up the great work
    Best wishes
    Mr C 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much. It’s true, film photography has something special, a different magic. Every now and then I come back to it with an old camera. 😘

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I so enjoy reading your photography journey, Ana. it’s not prehistory at all. I always admire your photography skills and your creativity/observation. I agree, you can learn so much from a photography group. Thank you for sharing with us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not only did I enjoy your journey Ana, I loved your tales about your early days – especially the little doll taking a photo. You’re right, you have a wonderful imagination which is really important for a photographer. Technology advances have made it almost easy for anyone to take a decent picture, but only those with a good eye, a good imagination and a good sense of creativity can see the possibilities – someone like you for instance! Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot, Tina 😘
      As you can see, the photograph of the doll is a Photoshop montage, which I made to answer a question that José Benito Ruiz, one of my favorite photographers, asked me in a workshop I attended … why do you take photos? A question that has taken me a long time to answer.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very impressive. You’ve moved from little girl toys to big girl toys, and, like me, you still enjoy catching great shots and sharing them with others. Congrats on evolving and improving. And thanks for sharing the process.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love your imagination and your story, Ana! I recognize interest coming back when the children arrived – and then changing subjects when they do not want to be your objects anymore. Beautiful memories!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ana, I enjoyed reading about your photographic journey, too. I would like to know how you got your X100 and your experiences with the camera. And perhaps, one day, I can shift from the X70 to the X100. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much, my story with the X100 maybe I will tell it one day, it would start like this … Once upon a time there was a camera that I fell in love with … 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.