A Labor of Love

I admit it was shocking to see those two words together, work and love… I don’t find much love in my daily work, for me it’s not funny to spend 8 hours a day at the office. 😉

But on second thought, I suppose there are people who enjoy working and many others who at the same time make life easier and more wonderful with their work. It occurs to me to think of the workers or volunteers who devote their effort and time to helping others, but also of those whose work makes our lives more beautiful.

Let’s see what I found in the archive. As I am not very fond of portraying people, it has not been easy to find images related to the subject.  Finally, I have selected some photographs of people who, in my opinion, love their work and show it, in addition, sharing it with others.

Exposición Afganas

Gervasio Sánchez, Spanish journalist and photographer. Showing us his work “Afganas”. He has covered as a photojournalist most of the armed conflicts in Latin America, the Gulf War, the Bosnian War…

The painter Iris Lázaro talking about her work and sharing with us her emotion.

Some of her works.  I love them!

Fernando Jiménez Ocaña

Fernando Jiménez Ocaña, writer and editor.

Salimos todos

Photographers like José Luis Valdivia, who through their lectures, share their knowledge of photography.

El Kanka and his companions, at their concerts you can see that they love what they do and they make us enjoy and have a great time with their music.

Cuentoterapia en Cal Massot

My friend Anabel García Capapey and her colleague treat emotional intelligence through tales.

Posted as part of Lens-Artists: A Labor of Love

17 thoughts on “A Labor of Love

  1. Ana, after telling us you don’t photograph people you’ve given us quite an array of people sharing their love of the arts and gifting others with their talents – much as you yourself do 😊. A lovely take on the challenge

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a grand variety of workers to highlight — artists, musicians, writers, photo journalists, and so much more! Thank you for contributing to the challenge this week in a grand way. I, too, don’t take pictures of people working very often, but I should. After all, they make the world go ’round — and most do it with pride and passion. This is quite a happy post.

    Like

  3. Ana, in the early days of my photographic journey, the only people in my photographs were friends and family. But in the last few years, I have discovered that a properly place stranger added “dimension” to my photographs.

    You’ve provided the faces of the various artists among their creations which adds human context to the photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much, Khürt, you are very kind.

      In my first photographs, family was too the main motive. Now, I have a hard time portraying strange people.

      Like

  4. These are wonderful, Ana. I love that you know the names of all these people and they have had an impact on you and your work. A lovely tribute to their labors of love!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much, Patti.

      All those people are known, some good friends. I have shared good times with all of them.

      Like

  5. Ana – I love the way you grabbed the photos of people in action!
    I take street shots and people photos and have wrestled with it at times – but go back to it because I enjoy it so
    But your post reminded me as to how some of the street shots or people photos are important for depicting humanity! And a life in action – I enjoyed each photo so much

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I do not usually photograph people on the street, it is not comfortable for me. In this case, they are known people, who knew that I was taking photos.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.