Arco de Santa María in Burgos (Spain), is one of the twelve medieval gates the city had during the middle age.
Nowadays It is one of the most visited and emblematic monuments of the city.
The door was conceived as a large triumphal arch, with an altarpiece arranged in stone and with a crenellated finish in the form of a castillete, which makes the complex a quite unique architectural monument.
Originally built in the 14th-15th century, between 1536 and 1553 it was completely remodeled leading to the entrance made with the typical Burgalese white limestone.
In the sixteenth century the façade is attached to the pre-existing building, the motive, to commemorate the visit of Emperor Charles V to the city of Burgos and to extol its most important entrance.
It is currently open to the public as a Historic Artistic Cultural Center, with museum spaces and for temporary exhibitions.